Jackie Cohen
Tacoma Night Terror Part 2: Self-Fulfilling Elegy

I had the blues but now I’ve gone a bit green. Worried. Can’t sleep. What do you think it is? Probably nothing. Neck looks swollen. Does my neck look really swollen to you? Hand’s numb, too. Left one. The death one. You know, I did see Death about an hour ago, waving at me from an apartment window across the way. Maybe let’s say our goodbyes now, just in case?

The second head of Jackie Cohen’s two-part Siamese twin Tacoma Night Terror EP set, the gloriously-titled Self-Fulfilling Elegy, at once declares itself the cocky counter-peak to the previous release’s valley of gloomy, anxiety-fueled observations. It opens with the big, Hunky Dory strut of “Make U Sick,” all hutzpah and hot-head swagger and hopped-up disregard for proper spelling. But it’s only the high before the low. By the time we land on torch song “It’s Rainin’ Again,” the moxie has burned off and Cohen’s once again bedridden and reaching for the mirtazapine. The whistles and moans of mental health across this set of songs are bold and often hilariously garlanded. In the brilliant closing song, “I Hate My Body,” Cohen turns her body dysmorphia and pathological clenching (“My eyes feel like chestnuts on a fire/My back is all busted up/My BPM’s way up/My shit is aching”) into a big, dazzling Rockette’s Spectacular high-kicking finale that alone is worth the price of admission.



01. Make U Sick
02. Tacoma Night Terror
03. The Trip
04. It's Rainin' Again
05. I Hate My Body

Release date: October 12, 2018


All songs composed by Jackie Cohen
Produced by Jonathan Rado, Brian D'Addario, & Michael D'Addario at Dreamstar Studios Los Angeles, except "Make U Sick" produced by Jonathan Rado at Sonora Recorders Los Angeles
Engineered by Jonathan Rado
Mixed by Jonathan Rado, except "Make U Sick" mixed by Adrian Olsen, Jonathan Rado, and Trey Pollard

Jackie Cohen – vocals
Jonathan Rado – percussion, bass, guitar, piano, synth, BGV
Michael D'Addario – drums, guitar, clarinet, BGV
Brian D'Addario – piano, synth, bass, guitar, trumpet, BGV on "Make U Sick"
Sam France – BGV, piano on "Make U Sick"
Kevin Basko – bass and 12-string acoustic guitar on "Make U Sick"
© 2018 Spacebomb Records. All Rights Reserved.